Fontaines D.C : Single, album et Peaky Blinders

Clairement assimilable à cette vague post-punk rock du Royaume-Uni au même titre que Idles, Shame ou encore The Murder Capital, Fontaines DC revient avec un nouvel album et un premier single « A Hero’s Death » mettant en scène l’acteur Aidan Gillen (Game Of Throne ou encore Peaky Blinders).

« The song is a list of rules for the self, they’re principles for self-prescribed happiness that can often hang by a thread. It’s ostensibly a positive message, but with repetition comes different meanings, that’s what happens to mantras when you test them over and over. There’s this balance between sincerity and insincerity as the song goes on and you see that in the music video as well. That’s why there’s a lot of shifting from major key to minor key. The idea was influenced by a lot of the advertising I was seeing – the repetitive nature of these uplifting messages that take on a surreal and scary feel the more you see them.
The title came from a line in a play by Brendan Behan, and I wrote the lyrics during a time where I felt consumed by the need to write something else to alleviate the fear that I would never be able follow up ‘Dogrel.’ But more broadly it’s about the battle between happiness and depression, and the trust issues that can form tied to both of those feelings. »

Leur second disque sortira le 31 Juillet prochain et ce single s’annonce déjà bien prometteur et on a très très hâte.

A Hero’s Death’ tracklist:
1. I Don’t Belong
2. Love Is The Main Thing
3. Televised Mind
4. A Lucid Dream
5. You Said
6. Oh Such A Spring
7. A Hero’s Death
8. Living In America
9. I Was Not Born
10. Sunny
11. No

Source : ZazaMediaCorp