Arcade Fire : Un single pour Will Butler

Il n’avait rien sorti en solo depuis 2015, Will Butler balancera son disque « Generations » le 25 Septembre prochain.

“My first record, Policy, was a book of short stories. Generations is more of a novel — despairing, funny, a little bit epic,” Butler explained in a statement. “A big chunk of this record is asking: What’s my place in American history? What’s my place in America’s present? Both in general — as a participant, as we all are, in the shit that’s going down — but, also extremely particularly: me as Will Butler, rich person, white person, Mormon, Yankee, parent, musician of some sort, I guess.”

Il en a logiquement profité pour claquer son single « Surrender » qui figurera sur la tracklist de 10 titres et dont le clip sent le confinement à plein nez.

A tune that “is masquerading as a love song, but it’s more about friendship… Relationships that we sometimes wish we could let go of, but that are stuck within us forever. “It’s also about trying to break from the first-person view of the world. ‘What can I do? What difference can I make?’ It’s not about some singular effort — you have to give yourself over to another power. Give over to people who have gone before who’ve already built something — you don’t have to build something new! The world doesn’t always need a new idea, it doesn’t always need a new personality. What can you do with whatever power and money you’ve got? Surrender it over to something that’s already made.”

Generations Tracklist:
01. Outta Here
02. Bethlehem
03. Close My Eyes
04. I Don’t Know What I Don’t Know
05. Surrender
06. Hide It Away
07. Hard Times
08. Promised
09. Not Gonna Die
10. Fine

Source : Consequence Of Sound